Tender & Notices

首页 / About Guangzhou Airport / Tender & Notices

Big News | Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport will officially Implement a 144-hour Visa-free Transit Policy from May 1

 Today, a news briefing on the implementation of 144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreigners in Guangdong Province was held at Terminal T2 of Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport. The news briefing announced that Guangdong Province will officially implement the 144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreigners from May 1. Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport has become one of Guangdong's three ports of entry to implement the policy. The policy will help greatly improve the entry and exit convenience of foreigners in Guangdong Province and attract more international passengers to transit in Guangzhou. It is of great significance for Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport to build a world-class aviation hub with "complete functions and global radiation".

  The visa-free transit policy implemented this time will benefit 53 countries' holders of valid international travel documents who have a fixed date within 144 hours and who have a seat on a connecting flight to a third country (region). The visa-free transit policy will be implemented within the administrative region of Guangdong Province. Foreigners in transit can choose to enter from any of Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport and Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport, and exit from any of the 32 ports in Guangdong Province that are open to the outside world and have passenger transport capabilities. Compared with the previous 72-hour visa-free transit of foreigners from Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport implemented in Guangdong, additional entry and exit ports and stay time are provided in the 144-hour visa-free transit policy. Additional ports of entry, including Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport and Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport, as well as 31 additional ports of exit are covered by this policy, and the stay time is extended to 144 hours.

  In order to fully implement the 144-hour visa-free transit policy, Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport has made various preparations at T1 and T2 terminals. First, the 144-hour visa-free transit passenger flow has been optimized. Special signs have been designed for passengers, special frontier inspection channels have been arranged, and special check-in counters and passenger waiting areas have been set up. Second, tourist information centers have been established in the terminals in cooperation with provincial and municipal tourism administrations to actively promote the rich tourism products in Guangzhou, Guangdong, and to provide more choices for tourists to travel in the province. Third, on-site service personnel at the airport have been trained to understand the 144-hour visa-free transit policy and provide better services for passengers. Fourth, in the future, businesses in the terminal will also be coordinated to provide more commercial discounts for the 144-hour visa-free transit passengers, so as to bring better experience to passengers.

  In order to ensure the smooth implementation of the 144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreigners, 14 relevant functional departments, including the provincial foreign affairs office and the provincial public security department, have established a joint meeting system. In addition, special visa-free transit channels have been set up at all ports of entry; the inspection process has been simplified; safety management measures have been improved; reasonable guiding signs have been arranged, and transit customs clearance facilities have been revamped to provide safe and efficient customs clearance guarantee and high-quality smooth entry and exit services for visa-free transit foreign tourists. Guangdong Province has also planned a number of tourism products and routes suitable for the visa-free transit policy according to the relevant contents and characteristics of the policy, in an effort to provide foreign tourists with richer and better tourism consumption choices. In addition, Guangdong Province has strengthened its linkage with Hong Kong and Macao regions and studied cooperation with Hong Kong and Macao regions to enhance the attraction of "one journey with multiple stops" tourist routes in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area through policies.

  The heads of relevant units of the joint meeting said that this policy, as one of the entry-exit policies and measures of the Ministry of Public Security and the National Immigration Administration to support the construction of Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, the construction of Guangdong Free-Trade Zone and innovation-driven development, fully reflects the state's emphasis on and support for Guangdong's promotion of the level of opening up to the outside world, and is of great significance to Guangdong in accelerating the development of inbound tourism, building an important international tourist destination, promoting Guangdong's open economy and establishing an important international gateway for China to expand its opening up.

  The implementation of 144-hour visa-free transit policy will bring real convenience to the promotion of foreign friends to come to Guangdong for tourism, business activities and transnational business development. Guangdong Province will further optimize the transit service process, improve supporting measures, improve the consumption environment, deepen international tourism cooperation, and strive to make policies benefit tourists and boost development.

01. 53 countries to which the policy applies

    24 European Schengen visa agreement countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

    15 other European countries: Russia, Britain, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Monaco and Belarus.

     6 American countries: United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina and Chile.

     2 Oceania countries: Australia and New Zealand.

     6 Asian countries: South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, UAE and Qatar.

02. 3 ports of entry to which this policy applies

    Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport and Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport.

03. 32 ports of exit to which this policy applies

  5 air ports: Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport, Meizhou Meixian Airport, Zhanjiang Airport and Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport.

  4 railway ports: Guangzhou Tianhe Railway Port, Dongguan Railway Port, Foshan Railway Port and Zhaoqing Railway Port.

  8 road ports: Shenzhen Sha Tau Kok Port, Man Kam To Port, Huanggang Port, Luohu Port, Shenzhen Bay Port, Futian Port, Zhuhai Gongbei Port and Hengqin Port.

  15 ports: Guangzhou Port, Nansha Port, Lianhuashan Port, Shekou Port, supporting port of Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport, Jiuzhou Port, Wanzai Port, Wanshan Port, Doumen Port, Jiangmen Port, Heshan Port, Foshan Gaoming Port, Rongqi Port, Zhongshan Port and Dongguan Humen Port.